jumping into cold water

And so what happens now? Who wins in this battle of cat and mouse? You do the chasing, and I do the waiting.  It’s not enough for me to be smitten because I was always suffering from a case of one-sidedness.  You’d never know how it would feel like to love someone like me, to know someone like me.

I wish you knew that just this once, you would finally know what it felt like to be on the other side, completing this side of town.

I wish you would hold me and keep me safe, safe from all this chaotic madness.  I wish that you would actually get off from leaning on the barriers and run to me, and ask me if I was okay.  Let’s make most of the time, the small timeframe we have left.  Because when all is said and done, and we’ve said our goodbyes, I’d forget the moments we’d shared and the photographs we’ve had… they’d all disappear. What more do you want from the now, from the present?

I was never used to the knight in shining armor, but I want to try it, just this once.

From someone like you.

Leave a Reply

